MSCHE Welcomes New Commissioners and the Re-Election of Second-Term Commissioners for 2020

The Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) welcomes eight first-term Commissioners and four Commissioners elected to a second term on Jan. 1, 2020. These individuals were elected by a vote of MSCHE member institutions this past fall and will serve from Jan. 1, 2020, to Dec. 31, 2022.

Commissioners Elected to First Full-Term:

Ms. Laurie Carter Ms. Laurie A. Carter, J.D., 17th President of Shippensburg University of Pennsylvania. Leads the regional public university of 6,000 students providing strong vision for enhancing the institutional priority of student success. She was appointed by Pennsylvania Governor Tom Wolf to serve on the PA Tuition Account Program (TAP) Advisory Board.
Mr. Michael Collins Mr. Michael Collins, Vice President at JFF, a national non-profit working to transform our nation’s education and workforce systems to accelerate economic advancement for all. For over a decade, he has led a multi-state postsecondary reform network working to increase the success of learners from low income-backgrounds through connecting colleges and state postsecondary systems to evidence-based practices and practitioner-informed policies and supporting their implementation through postsecondary reform initiatives.
Dr. Wayne A. I. Frederick, M.B.A., the 17th president of Howard University (DC) where he has advanced the University’s commitment to student opportunity, academic innovation, public service, and fiscal stability. He earned a B.S./M.D. dual degree and M.B.A. from Howard and continues to teach and operate at Howard College of Medicine.
Dr. Jonathan Peri, J.D., the ninth President of Manor College (PA) has led dramatic changes to Manor’s campus without creating new costs or debt. Dr. Peri is the only person in Pennsylvania history to concurrently sit on six of its main state boards and committees related to education. He was originally appointed to the Commission on July 1, 2019, to complete the term of retiring Commissioner. He will serve as Vice Chair of the Commission’s Committee on Follow-Up Activities and Candidate Institutions in 2020.
Dr. Susan D. Looney, J.D., is the sixth President of Reading Area Community College (PA). In her 21 years as a full-time community college educator and administrator at institutions from Arizona to Pennsylvania, Dr. Looney has worked in diverse roles and exemplifies how community college can changes lives.
Dr. Steven M. Rose has served as President of Passaic County Community College (NJ) since 1996. Under Dr. Rose’s leadership, PCCC became one of the fastest growing colleges in New Jersey more than doubling in size.
Dr. Havidán Rodríguez is the 20th President of University at Albany (UAlbany). Dr. Rodríguez is a national leader in the area of diversity and inclusion in higher education and is currently accelerating UAlbany’s success toward reaching its vision to be the nation’s leading diverse public research university.
Dr. Olga Rodríguez de Arzola, FAAP, is Professor of Pediatrics and Dean of the Ponce Health Sciences University School of Medicine (PHSU-SOM). She is also President of the Regional Academic Medical Center of the Southwest of Puerto Rico, an entity established by law whose mission is to support the development of undergraduate and graduate medical education in the Southwest of Puerto Rico.

Current Commissioners Elected for Second Term:

Dr. MaryAnn Baenninger began her duties as the 13th President of Drew University in July 2014, after serving 10 years as President of The College of Saint Benedict. She will chair the Commission’s Committee on Membership in 2020.
Dr. Herman Beavers is Professor of English and Africana Studies at the University of Pennsylvania, where he has been teaching African American Literature and Creative Writing since 1989. Dr. Beavers has done extensive service and consulting in the areas of the recruitment and retention of students from underrepresented backgrounds in institutions of higher learning as well as arts-based community-service learning.
Dr. David B. Rehm was named Vice President of Academic Affairs at Misericordia University in June 2017. Dr. Rehm regularly serves as a Peer Evaluator and Team Chair for MSCHE and served as a member of the Commission’s Steering Committee for the Revision of Characteristics of Excellence. He will continue his role as Chair the Commission’s Committee on Follow-Up Activities and Candidate Institutions.
Dr. James Sunser assumed his duties as President and Chief Executive Officer of SUNY Genesee Community College in August 2011. In addition to his service as a Peer Evaluator, he was a member of the steering committee that reviewed and recommended changes to MSCHE’s accreditation standards and the Steering Committee that worked on changes to the Commission’s accreditation processes and cycle. He will Chair the Commission in 2020.

For full bios and a complete listing of MSCHE Commissioners, click here.