Commissioners Complete Service for Middle States Commission on Higher Education

Dr. Gary L. Wirt stepped down as Chair of the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE) in addition to seven members completing their terms and leaving the Commission as of Dec. 31, 2018.

Dr. Gary L. Wirt Dr. Wirt, President of Goldey-Beacom College, was Chair of the Executive Committee since 2017 and a member since 2012 when he rejoined the Commission. Previously, Dr. Wirt was a Commissioner from 2005 to 2010. During that time, he served on the Commission’s Presidential Search Committee. In 2009, Dr. Wirt was elected as a Trustee of the Middle States Association of Colleges and Schools, where he has been a member of the Finance Committee and Human Resources Committee.
Dr. Meg Benke Dr. Meg Benke, who is interim Provost at SUNY-Empire State College, was elected to the Commission on Jan. 1, 2013. A member of the Executive Committee, she had been Secretary since 2017.
Dr. Karen Kershenstein Dr. Karen Kershenstein is the former Director of the Accreditation and State Liaison Division of the U.S. Department of Education. She joined the Commission as a Public Member in 2009 and served as a member of the Executive Committee since 2009. She also previously served as a Public Member on the Commission from 2001-2008.
Mr. Joseph Connolly Mr. Joseph Connolly is a Distinguished Visiting Fellow at the Sorbonne. He has served as a Public Member of the Commission since being elected on Jan. 1, 2013.
Dr. Dario A. Cortes Dr. Dario A. Cortes had served on the Commission since being elected on Jan. 1, 2013. He was president of Berkeley College from 2008 through 2015. On 2015 he was named Senior Vice President of Strategic Alliances at Berkeley College and on 2017 he was also named Executive Director of the Berkeley College Foundation, a 501(c) (3) tax-exempt charitable corporation.
Dr. John Ettling Dr. John Ettling, President of the State University of New York College at Plattsburgh, was a member of the Commission since his appointment on July 1, 2012. Throughout his career, he has been an enthusiastic proponent of student exchanges and international education.
Dr. Celeste E. Freytes Gonzalez Dr. Celeste E. Freytes Gonzalez, a Professor at the University of Puerto Rico-Rio Piedras since 1979, began her first term as a Commissioner in January 2016. Throughout the years, she has worked on many initiatives related to higher education and the self-study process.
Dr. Jack Johannes Dr. Jack Johannes, a Professor of Political Science at Villanova University, had served as a Commissioner since being appointed in 2011. From 1995 to 2010 he served as Vice President for Academic Affairs at Villanova University.